Category Archives: Blog


The Grand Villa Adriana, Designing the UNESCO Buffer Zone – International Call for La Grande Villa Adriana Projects

Casa dell’Architettura

On August 29th at Casa dell’Architettura in Rome the International Design Call for the Grande Villa Adriana has gathered some of the most important architects of the most prestigious universities in Europe. The call has been promoted and organized by the Accademia Adrianea of Architecture and Archeology in collaboration with the Autonomous Institute of Villa Adriana and Villa D’Este and with the patronage of the Municipality of Tivoli.

Romolo Martemucci greets the students and the audience

The main objective of the call is the Unesco Buffer Zone of Villa Adriana to be reconsidered as a system of archaeological, architectural, naturalistic and ecological coexistence open to an unprecedented design dimension that exceeds its mere condition as a binding and irreversible constraint. In this context, the idea is to consider the Unesco Buffer Zone as an opportunity for planning and valuing the re-identification of the territory; and therefore to promote the regeneration of an ecosystem that includes archaeological and landscape assets, as well as service facilities and activities for cultural and economic growth.

The call has been presided by former Accademia Adrianea President Romolo Martemucci and current President Pier Federico Caliari, together with Flavio Mangione, President of the Order of the Architects, Luca Ribichini, President of the Cultural Commision of Casa dell’Architettura, Andrea Bruciati, Director of the Villa Adriana – Villa D’Este Institute and Giuseppe Trieste, President of Fiaba.

Some of the important participants to the call include Eduardo Souto de Moura with Federico Bucci and Angelo Lorenzi (PoliMI – Polo di Mantova), Andras Palffy with Ferruccio Izzo and Francesco Collotti (UniNa – DIARC + UniFi – DIDA), Marius Marcu Lapadat, Oana Diaconescu and Daniel Armenciu (UAUIM – Bucharest), Josep Mias with Valerio Tolve and Alice Bottelli (Etsab – UPC + PoliMi – AUIC), Joao Gomes da Silva with Valeria Pezza and Paolo Portoghesi (UniNa – DIARC), Riccardo D’Aquino with Giovanni Carbonara and Massimo De Vico (Uniroma 1_La Sapienza-SSBAP).


Full pictures album here.

The 2017 Piranesi Prix de Rome Career Achievement Award to Portuguese Architect Eduardo Souto De Moura

The Awards Committee of the Piranesi Prix de Rome, in collaboration with the Ordine degli Architetti, Paesaggisti, Pianificatori e Conservatori di Roma e Provincia, the Polo Territoriale di Mantova of the Politecnico di Milano and the Pantheon Institute of Rome, have chosen Eduardo Souto de Moura to receive the 2017 Piranesi Prix de Rome Career Achievement Award.
 He will receive this prestigious recognition on Friday the 24th of March, 2017, at the Casa dell’Architettura – Acquario Romano in Rome, and then in a lectio magistralis will discuss the high points of a career that began in 1980.

The announcement by Prof. Arch. Romolo Martemucci, President Emeritus of the Accademia Adrianea, Alessandro Ridolfi, President of the Ordine degli Architetti PPC di Roma e Provincia, Luca Basso Peressut, Director of the Premio Piranesi,  and Federico Bucci, Pro Rettore of the Polo Territoriale di Mantova of the Politecnico di Milano, is made after careful consideration of candidates from June 2016 onward by members of the Committee including Professor Livio Sacchi (Consiglio Nazionale degli Architetti PPC), Luigi Spinelli and Barbara Bogoni of the Polo Territoriale of Mantova and Pier Federico Caliari, curator of the Piranesi Prix de Rome.

Souto de Moura, born in 1952, and winner of the Pritzker Prize of 2011 (considered the equivalent of the Nobel Prize in Architecture), is one of the best known and most influential architects in the world. He started his studies at the Italian School of Oporto before attended the School of Fine Arts and studied sculpture before graduating in Architecture in 1980. He worked with and was assistant to Alvaro Siza (another Portuguese Pritzker winner) at the Architecture Faculty of the University of Porto.
 He is currently Full Professor at the Polo Territoriale di Mantova of the Politecnico di Milano where he teaches Architectural Design in Historical Contexts and Architectural Design. He has also taught Architecture at Geneva, Paris-Belleville, as well as Harvard University, Dublin, ETH Zurich, Lausanne, and the Accademia di Architettura in Mendrisio. Among his most important projects are the Centro Cultural in Oporto (1981-1990), the House in Alcanena (1987-1992); the Cinema House of Manoel de Oliviera in Oporto (1988-2002); Braga Municipal Stadium (2000-2004); the Contemporary Art Center in Braganca (2002-2008); the Casa das Historias Paula Rego in Cascais (2005-2009); the Casa das Artes in Oporto; the transformation of the customs building of Oporto into the Transportation and Communication Museum (1993-2002); the redesigned Convent of Santa Maria do Bouro (1989-1997); the Cultural Center “Espacio Miguel Torga” in Sabrosa (2007-2011); the Paula Regola Museum (2005-2009); and the conversion of the Convent of Bernardas at Tavira (2006-2013).
Souto de Moura has received many awards and honors from prestigious public and private institutions and universities the world over. In addition to the Pritzker Prize, these include the International Prize for Stone in Architecture from Verona, the First Prize in the Biennale Ibero Americana for the Pousada Santa Maria do Bouro project, the Premio Pessoa, and the Heinrich-Tessenow Gold Medal. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, holds the rank of Grand Officier of the Ordem Militar de Sant’Iago da Espada of Oporto, an Honorary Member of Royal Architecture Institute of Canada, an Honorary Member of the Order of Architects of Portugal, and a Member of the Academy of Arts in Berlin for Architecture.

The name and work of this Portuguese master adds an important new chapter in the history of the Piranesi Prix de Rome. He joins an impressive list of previous distinguished recipients – from Rafael Moneo to David Chipperfield, from Peter Eisenman to Bernard Tschumi and Yoshio Taniguchi – who have chosen contemporary architecture as their field of inquiry into the very essence of architecture and permanent classical values within the complex reality of change and becoming.

2016 Piranesi Prix de Rome winners published

The Piranesi Prix de Rome 2016  given by the Accademia Adrianea di Architettura e Archeologia and the Ordine degli Architetti, Pianificatori, Paesaggisti e Conservatori di Roma e provincia, was awarded to the group with the best ideas for redesigning the historical area relating to the imperial forums. Of the eighteen projects submitted three were singled out as joint winners. These were David Chipperfield with Alexander Schwarz from Berlin, Ricardo Petrachi from the Università di Roma Tre coordinated by Luigi Franciosini, and Franco Purini of the Università la Sapienza with Tommaso Valle. The Commission also gave special mention to three further groups: Pierfranco Galliani (Politecnico di Milano) and Tortelli e Frassoni Associati; Carmen Andriani (Università di Genova) and Guillermo Vasquez Consuegra (Spain); and Fabio Frabrizzi (Università di Firenze) and Paredes Pedrosa Arquitectos (Spain). They further mentioned Gianluigi Mondaini with ABDR Studio.  See the winning projects here.

As published in La Repubblica:screen-shot-2016-09-21-at-3-28-15-pm







Yoshio Taniguchi received 2016 Prix de Rome Award



Prix de Rome 2016


The Prix de Rome award is presented by Accademia Adrianea di Architettura e Archeologia and is presented to distinguished professionals in the field of architecture in recognition of their contributions in the area of designing within the context of archaeology. The award ceremony was held 18 March 2016 at Casa dell’ Architettura, Rome.

see Taniguchi’s Biography